Wednesday Weeping – How Crappy Customer Service Might Ruin Christmas

21 Dec

I love bargains. Love ’em. Live for ’em. Won’t buy a thing full-price. I have purchased deals from Groupon, TeamBuy, DealFind, etc. and experienced minimal problems. Ergo, when TeamBuy had a great Holiday deal on Android tablets, I thought “what a great idea for a Christmas present.” I know the ipad is the ultimate in tableture, but at a bargain price, I figured why not try out the Android, and then take it from there.

The site stated that all orders had to be placed before December 9th if you wanted them to arrive before Christmas. Using my TeamBuy certificate, I placed my order with CoolDroids on December 7th. Then I checked my account. I checked it every day. On Monday the 19th of December, my account still said “Awaiting Fulfillment”. This did not bode well for the timely delivery of Christmas gifts, considering the CoolDroids website says it will take 7-10 business days to arrive once an order is shipped.

I called CoolDroids. I pressed 2 for “Support”. I was told “This is not a viable option”. I could feel my chest tightening. Had I been scammed?

I called TeamBuy. I spoke to a nice-enough guy, who assured me that all orders placed in time would be delivered by the 23rd. I asked if there was a phone number where I could speak directly with someone at CoolDroids. He said no.

I checked the “Q&A” section of the TeamBuy website. Hundreds of people were on there voicing the same concern as me. (Scroll to the bottom of the thread for the really angry posts). We had all placed our orders on time. We had all tried to contact CoolDroids, and TeamBuy, and anyone who might be able to answer the question “WILL I GET MY DELIVERY IN TIME FOR CHRISTMAS?!”. We were all given the run-around.

I went to the CoolDroids website and waited for an “online operator”. I started chatting with “Geraldine”. I’m 99% sure that Geraldine is a chat robot. Here is the transcript of our conversation. (You probably have to open this image in another window and enlarge to see the text of the chat). Basically, the response was “yeah… we’ll get back to you on that.”

My chat with "Geraldine" - and my internal monologue.

Anyway, it’s been 48 hours. No reply from Geraldine. No communication from TeamBuy, so I tweeted at them. And they tweeted me back. TeamBuyHalifax was on it immediately (thank you for that), and TeamBuy_Toronto (where the head office is located) responded within 24 hours. Their customer experience team is working on it.

Fair enough. But why hasn’t anyone been on this TeamBuy thread where so many of TeamBuy’s customers are upset about having no effin’ clue what’s going on with their Christmas presents? Some of the complaints came from parents voicing concern over the fact that these were gifts for their kids. How do you explain that one on Christmas morning? “Sorry kids, Santa won’t be showing up with your presents for a few more weeks, or possibly not at all.” It may be out of your hands TeamBuy, in fact, I’m quite sure at this point it is – but people bought the deal from you, and they want answers to their questions.

Not everyone uses Twitter, and I was getting frustrated with TeamBuy’s lack of activity on  their own forum. Anyone in any kind of social business will tell you that it is part of someone’s job (if not everyone’s job) to engage with customers over issues of this nature. Why wasn’t anyone doing it?

I know that small companies sometimes get overwhelmed by immense TeamBuy/Groupon/DealFind responses and that can slow things down and screw up business for them. However, CoolDroids also placed similar ads on other group-buying sites, so one would have to imagine that they were looking for a surge in orders.  If you guarantee that something will be delivered by Christmas, you better be ready to follow through with the customers who placed their order weeks and weeks ago when their order status says “Awaiting Fulfillment” only a few days before Christmas. When things are going poorly and orders aren’t making it out the door – you get EVERYONE on the phone and on email and on your support forums and you DEAL WITH YOUR CUSTOMERS. Don’t leave this task to Geraldine the Robot. If you do you, then please be ready for a crap-ton of reports to the Better Business Bureau.

If all of this wasn’t enough, it appears that CoolDroids.com is actually a re-seller/alias for another site – http://kascadian.mybigcommerce.com/ CoolDroids/Kascadian seem to be the exact same site, but with different names. One thing that leaps off the page is that the prices at Kascadian are cheaper, with the exact same tablet retailing for $94.99 instead of the $389.99 (discounted to $119 + $16 tax). Either way, it still looks like the TeamBuy purchasers are paying more than what the tablet is worth. What the hell is going on here?

CoolDroids... Kascadian... it's all the same, and it's all bullshit

Teambuy – I’m sure you didn’t want this. Did you research this company particularly well before signing them up? Probably not. Did you notice that Kascadian Electronics has an “F” rating from the BBB? Probably not.  But I’m sure you didn’t want this. Ideally, the orders would be shipped, we would all have our tracking numbers, and everything would be right in the world and your customers would be happy. But that’s not what happened, and by abandoning your message boards and not addressing the 2000+ customers who purchased this deal, you aren’t doing very much to instill faith in your brand.

So that’s where we are right now. As it stands, my order says “Partially Shipped”. I don’t know what that means and I have  not received a tracking number from CoolDroids, or Kascadian, or anyone. If my order does arrive in time to make it under the tree, I will chalk it up to being a Christmas miracle, but I’m not holding my breath. Next time I’ll know that when buying any physical product from a group buying site… buyer beware!

Advertisements

59 Responses to “Wednesday Weeping – How Crappy Customer Service Might Ruin Christmas”

  1. CJ December 21, 2011 at 4:36 pm #

    I am in the same boat!!! This is ridiculous – its even more pathetic that Teambuy doesn’t even have a contact number for cooldroids. They obviously did NOT do a background check – resulting in a ton of people who will not be using their site again. I ordered 2 tablets on the 28th and I FINALLY got a response from teambuy saying my order HAS NOT BEEN SHIPPED.

    my blood is still boiling,. Thank you for getting the word out!!!!

  2. xerxia December 21, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

    It gets worse, Team Buy is now actively deleting questions and complaints from the forum thread. What a crock.

  3. Charles B December 21, 2011 at 6:03 pm #

    I am partially in the same boat, I placed my order for 2 tablets on Nov 28. About 2 weeks later 1 was listed as partially shipped and the other as awaiting fulfillment. By mid December, we were all told that all orders placed before Dec 7 were shipped and to be patient. That partially shipped meant that it was shipped but they hadn’t had a chance to post the tracking number. After many emails to both Teambuy and Cooldroids, I was told to expect my tracking number by the end of the weekend. Well, I finally got a tracking number posted on the Cooldroid site for one of them and the other is still awaiting fulfillment. On the 19th of Dec Canada Post showed that my parcel was accepted at the postal facility on Dec 17th. Hmmmm does not instill confidence to me that it was shipped BEFORE the 7th. Long story short, I finally accepted the delivery of the tablet TODAY! No word on the other one.

    On a side note, the specs on the Kascadian site for the cheaper price also lists better specs than the piece of crap we’re getting from Cooldroids. There is no way it is “worth $389: much less $119. I may have accented it had the transaction gone off without a hitch, but now I am faced with an even worse dilemma, which kid gets the one we got and which one has to wait indefinitely?

  4. ET December 21, 2011 at 10:18 pm #

    Oh my god! I just spent 30 minutes chatting with cooldroids to get a refund. The tablet is very shitty. It’s actually a poor copy from china with chinese character on the keyboard and bad, BAD functionality. Really disappointing.

    • This Needs to Stop December 22, 2011 at 9:06 am #

      Chinese Characters?! You’re kidding. Thanks for the advice. If the tablet actually ever shows up, I plan on rejecting the delivery.

  5. ET December 21, 2011 at 10:21 pm #

    By the way, don’t open the box and the product. Just return it for maximum and full refund. I used the 7″ tablet for 10 minutes, only to realize it was crap, and for that I’ll be refund only 80% of the value. Seriously, the touchscreen doesn’t work, the wifi keeps quitting, chinese character ans settings… come on!!

    • Rob Allen January 4, 2012 at 6:39 pm #

      where did you send the tablets back for refund??? Address???

      • ET January 4, 2012 at 6:46 pm #

        I’m still waiting on the procedure. I was supposed to receive an email from CoolDroids with all the details for return and refund on Dec. 28th but nothing so far, of course. I’ve been told yesterday that they will get back to me in the next 24 to 48 hours. I’ll keep you posted.

  6. Jackie Shaw December 21, 2011 at 11:25 pm #

    Feeling your pain, and determined to drive these guys down the drain with bad press. Ordered three tablets, one for each of my kids and the charge went on my credit card on Nov.21. Had to pester and query to receive a coupon, finally got the damn things ordered on December 7 and have 4 different emails guaranteeing Christmas delivery. Badgered them for weeks for a tracking number, as they told me it had shipped…guess what? It just shipped today and won’t be here until December 28. This was the only Christmas present for my kids, and so now they get nothing. I have emailed CoolDroids and Teambuy repeatedly, and can’t get anywhere. I am trying to figure out how to cancel my order…but can’t find a phone number. So, I am determined to bring em down. Every social media outlet at my disposal is going to be fully operational as a weapon of crappy business destruction….is nobody accountable for anything anymore?

    • This Needs to Stop December 22, 2011 at 9:11 am #

      I spoke with a rep at TeamBuy last night and he was very helpful and understanding. I had to wait about 5 minutes to get through (pretty good by most standards), but he was going to contact CoolDroids and tell them that I will not be accepting my order. The number is 1-855-832-6289. Give them a ring and they may be able to help you out.

      • Jackie Shaw December 22, 2011 at 10:20 am #

        Thanks everyone for the contact numbers! I couldn’t find a number and was trying to figure out how to get assistance. This is such a disappointment, as this was the only present that we were getting for each of our three kids….now I am unsure what to do. I don’t want to accept delivery of these, but I am worried that they won’t take the charges off my credit card! Anybody else able to get the money refunded? Thanks again, and Happy Holidays!

      • ET December 22, 2011 at 10:27 am #

        I chatted with a guy at Cooldroids yesterday and apparently that we will get a refund. You have to go in your cooldroids account on their website and click on your order. You’ll then see a “return” section. The refund option in the action dropdown will appear on dec. 28th, according to Bryan from Colldroids. Unopened item gets full refund and barely used item gets 80% refund. I’ll keep you inform of my process. There is NO WAY I’m keeping the tablet.

    • NathB December 24, 2011 at 7:49 am #

      Same thing happened to me and Its getting insane as everytime i post my frustration it gets deleted. bought 2 pc tablets and just got one and the other one is supposed to come on jan 3. Spoke to Bryan from cool droids on chat and he hung up on me .very poor customer service and its a shame since this will ruin my kids xmas

  7. Jamie December 22, 2011 at 9:56 am #

    Call and speak with Stuart Elrick 604-762-7350. I found this name and number under the deatails of my transaction in paypal. I told me that anything ordered prior to the 7th had been shipped and will arrive before Christmas. We ordered our tablets on Dec 2nd, still says awaiting fulfillment and support has stopped replying. It’s the 22nd and still no tablets.

    This gentlemen has also stopped answering his phone. Perhaps a flood of calls would promt him to act in regards to these issues.

    • Jme December 22, 2011 at 4:00 pm #

      Just a follow up on my previous post. We received an “update” today from cooldroids.com. Our order was shipped – TODAY!. Estimated delivery is for December 30th. I have three seperate emails from cooldroids.com support, two of them state “I can assure you that your order will arrive before Christmas”, and the third states “I gurantee that your order will arrive by Christmas”. To top it all off, last week when I spoke to Stuart Elrick (I believe the owner of the company) he told me personally over the phone that “I can gurantee that you’ll have it before Christmas as long as you placed it before the 7th”.

      ALL LIES!!!!

      Thanks for ruining Christmas for us Stuart and cooldroids!…and Im disgusted that they carry themselves in this manner, lies and dishonesty are ugly things, especially when it’s Christmas time.

  8. sita8202 December 22, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

    I have to throw my two cents in here, because I’ve been really annoyed by how this was handled, but I also did my research prior to placing the order.

    The fact is that basically from the beginning, the two different tablet models were identified by CoolDroids. It’s the second question in the discussion board and it was answered immediately. With a little time to research, you can easily find out that there are lots of online vendors that sell *almost* the same 7″ tablet for much, MUCH cheaper. This is an entry-level tablet, in no way worth the $389 alleged as the original price.

    However, the other tablets available online only have 256Mb of RAM and only 2GB hard drive, only expandable to 16GB with a microSd card. This one is double that at 512Mb, 4GB and expandable to 32GB. It also has the North American Android market pre-installed, where the other ones have the Chinese one. PLUS, even though it said Android 2.2, it’s actually Android 2.3 which is supposed to be more secure and considerably better. I considered it to be worth the small amount extra to have the extra capacity. I still do. The tablet you saw on Kascadian’s site might be the same brand, but it was also one of the 256Mb/2GB variety, so not the same thing as was offered through TeamBuy.

    What really made me angry about this whole fiasco was the lack of communication regarding shipping. My order said “partially shipped” about a week after I placed it, which was 3 December. 2 more weeks went by with nothing from them in the mail, before it showed that it was completely shipped and I got a tracking number. Obviously the “partially shipped” status was bulls*it. Clearly everyone’s order was shipped at the same time, regardless of when their orders were placed. It makes me think that they were waiting to get their money before placing THEIR order, that they didn’t actually have these in stock yet. That’s not acceptable. A lot of people were unnecessarily upset thinking that they wouldn’t get their Christmas gifts in time.

    All of that being said, I AM keeping my tablets. My husband and I are pleased with their performance; they do everything we want. I had no misconceptions about what I was getting, though.

    As a last point, regarding their BBB rating – that’s also bulls*it. If you look at WHY – it’s because they are not a member of the BBB (not a crime in and of itself. I consider it to be a money grab more than anything else. They give higher ratings to businesses that pay them) and they had 1 complaint filed against them over the last 3 years that wasn’t replied to. ONE in THREE years! I don’t consider THAT worthy of an F rating.

    PS – To those that DO want to keep their tablets, you can get rid of the Chinese characters on the on-screen keyboard by holding down on a text field until the “input” option pops up, and change from Guobi to Android. Easy fix. Also make sure to change all your language options to English.

    • CJ December 22, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

      ACTUALLY it was the exact same thing. Kascadian has taken the tablets that were the EXACT SAME off of their sites. see below:

      [This is the SAME site, but different names. This has the SAME product as cool droids – and this is where people who have received the tablets have gotten them from:

      http://kascadian.mybigcommerce.com/products/Zenithink-ZT%252d180-10.1%22-Android-2.2-Tablet-PC-4GB-512-MB.html << 4GB 512MB

      now compare to cooldroids.com

      http://www.cooldroids.com/zenithink-zt-180-10-1-android-2-2-tablet-pc-4gb-512-mb/ << 4GB, 512 MB

      I did my research and these were the same product.

      • sita8202 December 23, 2011 at 10:50 am #

        The 10 inch one was the same, yes, and selling for $20 LESS than even the TeamBuy deal. I was the first one that posted that on the TeamBuy discussion thread.

        The one mentioned in this article was the 7″ tablet, and those WERE different.

    • Josh December 22, 2011 at 10:22 pm #

      That’s not how BBB works at all.

      For the record, I have also initiated a BBB complaint against TeamBuy. This is their responsibility to customers.

      • sita8202 December 23, 2011 at 11:02 am #

        It’s very much how BBB works. Lots of information online about it.
        Here’s just one article:
        http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/british-columbia/story/2010/11/22/bc-betterbusiness.html

        I also speak from personal experience. I’m a small business owner, had no listing on BBB until they sent me a letter asking to join and provide them with more information. I declined their invitation and suddenly I had a listing with a D rating because there wasn’t “enough information”. No other reason, no complaints, nothing.
        Yeah, I call bulls*it on that.

        The fact is, there are so many places you can post reviews about your experiences with a company, that the BBB is quickly becoming obsolete. Their information is worse than useless in most cases.

        Blog posts like this, with lots of detailed information as to exactly what went wrong, how and why, are SO much better for consumers trying to decide whether or not to take a chance on dealing with a company.

  9. g werschler December 23, 2011 at 9:31 am #

    I am so angry and dissappointed by this. Ive talked to teambuy on three occassions and got the same non answer when i requested a refund. ‘We must check with the merchant before we can process a refund’ I think the people at teambuy were caught by surprise with this as well but its still largely their responsibility to fix this.

    • g werschler December 23, 2011 at 11:13 am #

      I submitted a return on cooldroids.com and almost immediatly got a message saying my order had shipped! I dont believe that and i still want my money back.

      • g werschler December 23, 2011 at 11:17 am #

        Have received a response from teambuy saying a refund will be done by noon. Ill let you know

  10. Jackie Shaw December 23, 2011 at 11:43 am #

    Thanks everybody for contact info….I spoke with a Stephanie at TeamBuy yesterday and she was a lot of help. Cancelled my order via email to CoolDroids..copied me on the email and also gave me $10 TeamBuy bucks as a way of apology. She admitted that they had been getting a barrage of complaints about this outfit. She even provided me with an address to return ship the tablets once they arrive. I tried calling the Stewart Elrick guy (or whatever his name is) at CoolDroids but his mailbox is full. Sketchy organization, that is for sure….and I will not have anything to do with them in the future. All in all, a good education for me about the perils of buying online….Happy Holidays to everyone and hope you get this mess resolved to your satisfaction without wasting too much time!

    • g werschler December 23, 2011 at 12:07 pm #

      The discussion thread on teambuy has been ‘edited’ again. Please I just want a refund. From teamrefund to teambuy and ccooldroids!

    • Jodi December 29, 2011 at 1:06 am #

      Jackie, I really hope you see this. Could you share the number you used to reach TeamBuy? I FINALLY received my 10 inch tablet on Dec 23rd and it was opened with excitement Christmas Morning. It doesn’t work at all! Vertical lines on the whole screen and nothing else. Now I’ve gotten the same reply twice from two different Cooldroid reps or bots, whatever they are saying that as of the 28th I will be contacted for a replacement. Now it’s the 29th and they’re still saying ‘sorry, we’ll get back to you with 24-48 hours. Hello! It’s been 72 hours already! I just want a replacement immediately that actually works..no, I just want my money back and want to return this to them. I’m thinking with all these problems from everyone, why wait weeks and weeks to probably again get a poor quality product and not be any further ahead.

    • ROB ALLEN January 4, 2012 at 1:22 pm #

      what is the ship to address so I can return these tablets I purchased and get a Refund???

  11. Leslie December 23, 2011 at 6:39 pm #

    Thanks to everyone for sharing their stories. You’ve made me feel much more sane about my initial rage! it I’ve spoken to a few people at TeamBuy and they have been very helpful and professional. They admitted to the fact that CoolDroids has not held up their end of the bargain, and they have issued me a refund. It’s not the most ideal situation, as I’m still left scrambling for a last-minute gift, but it’s reassuring to see that TeamBuy is taking all the right steps to rectify the mistake. I hope everyone has a great holiday!

  12. Nathalie December 23, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

    It is so ridiculous, I ordered 2 pc tablets and just got one. I complained that I ordered before dec 7 and that it was guaranteed delivery before xmas and a guy named Bryan at cool droids told me they had problems with their courier and hence the delay. My order is supposed to arrived on Jan 3rd since it was only shipped on dec 22. I spoke to team buy members, they can offer 10 bucks for the inconvenience but does that help when I have to tell my kid that team buy and cool droids screwed up and hence your xmas is delayed??. Cool droids, ever heard about express delivery when you screwup? what frustrates me is that they said they have already shipped the tablet but when I checked with postcanada they told me nothing was shipped yet, they just created a number and that Jan 3rd was only a tentative delivery date and that it could be longer. Thanks for ruining my kids xmas cooldroids and also to team buy not finding a better solution does not help either !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  13. Don December 26, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

    Exactly the same thing happened to me in my case i paid extra for express shipping as per elrick. Canda post still show request made for shipping but no item delivered on 23rd or even picked up from Cooldroids. I do not thing the cooldroid had any inventory of item to begin with!!! Probably still under order on their end!!!

  14. marshal December 30, 2011 at 10:08 am #

    wow… brutal.. I can’t believe how many of us are in the same boat… I’m sitting here on Dec 30th waiting for my two tablets I ordered on the 2nd of Dec… and nothing… they are supposed to be Guaranteed… and they don’t give a crap one way or another… it’s unheard of…

    I will definitely be having a conversation with Team buy… this is just aweful! terrible terrible…
    why company can’t ship on time? why can’t they provide tracking numbers on time? why does it say “partially shipped” for 3 weeks under account status… PARTIALLY SHIPPED? what does that even mean?

    worst experience I’ve ever had with a business, we need to facebook them into the ground and make sure no one orders from them again!

    any other solutions

  15. This Needs to Stop January 2, 2012 at 9:47 am #

    Here’s a fun new turn of events… my tablet was delivered and accepted… somewhere in Quebec. I live in Halifax.

  16. Amalia January 3, 2012 at 1:05 am #

    I have received this tablet let me just tell you that things that is wrong with it:
    1) When you plug the unit to recharge it makes a loud motor like noise
    2) You tube says loading….loading…loading and then an error msg comes on.
    3) You have to press very hard to select options
    4) As your type some how the language changes to chinese and it takes several steps to change it back
    5) I recharged the unit until is said full on the screen and then i used it for 20min and the battery died.
    6) The back of the unit gets so hot within that 20min i need a fabric to hold it so i dont have to burn myself.
    7) According to the top corner it says wifi connected and then when i load the website (any website) is says no internet connection.
    8) the camera is soooo dark i cant see myself it doesnt matter where i am daylight or even if i put a flash light to my face…

    I talk to five robots that keep telling me we will follow up, i dont know what do to. i ordered two tablets one i have and another one i attempted to cancel while it was pending then they sent me an email that say item shipped is been like that for 2 weeks now..they wont give me a return label for the one i have cause i cant get a talk to real person.

    This is the worst tablet, cheap from china

  17. Nathalie January 4, 2012 at 3:56 pm #

    same boat too here i am fighting for my refund and talking to robots. The worst company ever for customer service, you name it i talked to all of them not even a responce after.. so disgusting to have been fooled like that!

  18. frances January 4, 2012 at 5:01 pm #

    ORDERED BEFORE THE DEADLINE- FROM DEALFIND ABBOTSFORD – RECEIVED A CANADA POST TRACKING NUMBER WITH EXPECTED DELIVERY 2011/12/20. AND ORDER INFORMATION AT RICHMOND PO 2011/12/19. STILL NO DELIVERY. ON CHECKING WITH PO. THEY ONLY RECEIVE THE ORDER INFORMATION TO BE PICKED UP AT KASCADIAN. SO NOPW I HAVE TO FOLLOW UP WITH DEALFIND. ONCE AGAIN NO PHONE NUMBERS. AFTER READING ALL THESE COMMENTS IF AND WHEN IT EVENTUALLY ARRIVES, WILL RETURN WITHOUT OPENING, AS IT SEEMS PEOPLE ARE HAVING TROUBLE WITH THEM, AND THATS THE LAST THING I NEED IS SOMETHING FRUSTRATING. QUESTION: IF IT CAME FROM KASCADIAN ELECTR.ARE THEY OKAY, BUT IF THEY COME FROM COOLDROIDS, DOES IT BELONG IN THE GARBAGE.??? frances

    • Nat January 5, 2012 at 7:25 pm #

      kascadian and cooldroids are the same, for no reason they operate under kascadian also.

  19. Jodi January 4, 2012 at 10:36 pm #

    I finally received an email with actual information in it to return my tablet.

    1. You have to include all manuals, cables etc.
    2. You have to include a sheet with name, address, Team Buy Code and Support Ticket # from Cooldroids
    3. Support Ticket # has to also go on the outside of the package or they will refuse to accept it and send it back
    4. Return shipping has to be paid by purchaser…ridiculous I say when it arrived defective!
    5. IF they deem it defective they will replace or refund. If opened a 20% restocking charge applies..why should we have to pay that when you don’t know if it’s defective until you open the darn thing!
    6. Ship to Cooldroids.com
    PO Box 92036
    West Vancouver, BC
    V7V 4X4

    Hope that helps others!
    V&V 4X4

  20. Nath January 5, 2012 at 2:55 pm #

    Opened or not they charge a 20% restocking fee be careful. I have been asking for a refund on a daily basis and they are not sending any instruction. I have been told this morning that they have to send an RMA first or else if you send your package back without one, they wont proceed without it

  21. Shannon Boisvert January 6, 2012 at 1:37 am #

    I am so angry about this. The tablet they showed in the video clearly does not function like the one they shipped. I received my tablet and the touchscreen is defective, the tablet is slow and choppy, and it is a peice of junk. I read the return policy and did not see anything about a restocking fee. I emailed them immediately FOUR TIMES and did not receive any response until I did a live chat with an operator. Why does this company have no contact phone number?? Total scam.

    • Nathalie January 11, 2012 at 9:45 pm #

      Provided you bought the tablet from teambuy you wont be charged restocking fee. Team buy received confirmation I am still waiting for my refund, shameless, I will never buy deals from teambuy again

  22. Rolland Coderre January 6, 2012 at 11:32 am #

    I have the SAME problem with a memory card I ordered on time that was SUPPOSED to be here before Christmas!!!!!!!!! CoolDroids you are SHAMELESS! Teambuy you are NEGLIGENT! I’ll stick to Groupon and other deal finders from now on!!!!!! Where’s MY MONEY??? Or my GOODS? My sister-in-law also ordered a memory card from these clowns and was told that the 16GB card she ordered was probably a fake that could hold only 2GB even though it reported a size of 16GB in the device to fool the buyer into thinking it is bigger than it is!!!!!!!!!! Until you try to fill it up!!! BEWARE!

  23. Bernadine Fox January 10, 2012 at 4:06 pm #

    After a month and a half of being lied to and told things were happening that were not…. I have finally asked that Dealfind (Vancouver) refund my money to me. I bought 4 eReaders (supposedly for and in time for Christmas presents) – they never arrived. Every request from DealFind to them on my behalf elicited another “action” (i.e., they updated my account to reflect a change). First time, my order was changed to say “shipped.” And I recieved an email saying that I would receive a tracking number from Canada Post. It never came of course because Canada Post DOES NOT PROVIDE TRACKING NUMBERS TO CUSTOMERS – the shipper (in this case CoolDroids) would have that number if, in fact, the eReaders had been shipped. Clearly they were not. They of course (18 days later) never arrived. So my second request to DealFind to act on my behalf elicited another change in my order status – they provided the shipping number for one of the four eReaders. Problem? The tracking number for Canada Post does not exist! So, now I have been lied to twice about specific facts that can be traced and followed up on. This does not include the many, many times I have contacted Cooldroids and been told that they are looking into it, they will get back to me, they have extradited the problem, will hear back in 48 hours, etc. etc. etc. All of which never manifested into any action from Cooldroids except to stall me one more day or one more week.

    Dealfind wants to believe that they are a reputable company who is just overwhelmed by orders. It may be true that they are overwhelmed – but a reputable company does not shamelessly lie to get out of the difficulties they themselves have created. If overwhelmed they should have stopped offering these amazing deals with every coupon-oriented deal company across Canada. So far I have found them throughout Canada and the USA offering the same products.

    So please beware! Some of us may get our products. A few may even be happy with the product they got (many are not!). But is it worth it? Really? Get your product from another company that when you have a problem with it (and let’s face it these are tech products and often have some type of problem) you can get support and customer service that leaves you feeling like you got a real product – and not feeling like you got ripped off.

    DealFind has assured me that they will refund the $300 I paid for the eReaders. But CoolDroid charged me another $10/each for taxes….. I am not sure how I will get that money refunded. $40 may not be a lot for others, but it is a lot for me these days. And just for the record, I have every shred of what I just said documented. Will happily share with anyone who is interested.

    Bernadine Fox

    • Leslie January 16, 2012 at 4:04 pm #

      I had a very similar experience and I’m still going through the same mess. After CoolDroids shipped my tablet to the wrong address, I contacted them through their online chat and multiple operators assured me that I would be issued a new tracking number. After a few weeks of badgering them, they issued me a number that was only one digit different from the previous tracking code (for the delivery which went to Quebec). The number they gave me did not exist in Canada Post’s system. When I called CoolDroids on this blatant lie, they just said “someone will respond to you in 48 hours” and ended the session. Of course, no one ever contacted me. However, I did receive a refund from TeamBuy, and disputed the transaction for the tax that I paid to CoolDroids for non-delivery of goods.

      • AngusC January 17, 2012 at 12:28 am #

        Hi Leslie – you noted you never received your item, it was shipped to an address in Quebec and the tracking number Cooldroids had was “off” by one number. The EXACT same thing happened to me.

        After numerous contacts with Cooldroids, I finally gave up to the realization that I will never receive my order. I wrote an email to both Cooldroids and Teambuy asking for a refund on Jan 8th… any feedback on how long it takes for them to “settle” this and finally get my refund back??? Any other tips on who else I can contact to expedite my refund (i.e. specific Teambuy contact and how to dispute the tax on Cooldroids?)

        I am thinking of escalating this further to the BBB if I don’t receive a resolution by Jan 20th.

      • This Needs to Stop January 18, 2012 at 10:03 pm #

        Hey AngusC – I’ve also fully given up on ever getting a satisfying resolution from CoolDroids. I did report them to the BBB and recently received an email that the complaint was closed because CoolDroids never responded to them. I would recommend calling TeamBuy and actually speaking to someone there. Their phone number is on their website and I found they were quite helpful and understanding. For the tax I requested a chargeback on my credit card for the tax/shipping. Hope that helps! – Leslie

  24. CJ January 12, 2012 at 12:02 pm #

    im still waiting for my gst i paid to cooldroids – 70 bucks. They sent me an email after I had cancelled my order thru teambuy (got my refund thru teambiu) saying they had shipped my item on the 23rd. It is the 12th and I have no tracking information or product (and I will NOT be accepting it if it comes to my house). I have talked to the president of teambuy and he has done shit – ignored my emails.

    I know its only 70 bucks but considering I didnt get anything with that money I am making a big issue about it. I am so unimpressed!!!!

  25. Iamknadn January 12, 2012 at 3:51 pm #

    Hmmmm check out this site: http://www.fabulessproducts.com/
    suspecialy similar to Cooldroids/Kascadian and numerous complaints concerning a 7″ tablet deal on Dealfind…. coincidence?

  26. ArcAngelMD January 13, 2012 at 9:52 am #

    Another person with constant issues. Cooldroids never responded to any of my inquiries until 1 day after an easy refund from DealFind was voided. They then strung me along with “shipping this date” until the most recent one that puts me a day after I can get resolution from Paypal.

    • Bernadine Fox February 1, 2012 at 2:11 pm #

      Check out my post to the blog today. Do not believe the “shipping” comment by Cooldroids. It is a stalling tactic (see below). If you have not received the product by the date they said you would when you purchased the item, then you can ask for a refund through Paypal. Cooldroids still have a chance to rectify the situation after you have asked for a refund (i.e., get you the product for real!) but you have secured your option to get a refund through Paypal. If you wait you will lose it.

  27. Cora January 16, 2012 at 12:18 pm #

    I received my 7″ Android Tablet (I bought a voucher from Teambuy as well) a few days ago and realized right away the poor quality!!! I charged it and turned it on & half the screen won’t work! The tablet is made of really cheap plastic material. I can’t believe I’ve been scammed! This is a first & I trusted TeamBuy!!!

    I have to find out now how to get a refund and since I already opened the box, I guess I’m only getting the 80% back, if I get anything back at all!

    I’m very very disappointed with TeamBuy and disgusted with Cooldroids.com!!!

    I bought this for my kids and they can’t even get any use out of it. Sickening.

  28. Kevin January 19, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

    I have been reading through all these posts as I too have fallen victim to the promise of an inexpensive tablet and what seemed like a good deal. I do have questions for you all, I see that some people have managed to get in contact with someone at cool droids, does anyone have a contact number other than Stuart Elrick who may have stopped answering his phone? I have tried to find a phone number somewhere but have had no luck. They are not replying to me through the website or via email. Also, has anyone actually had their money refunded to them? At this point I would be happy just to at least get back 80% of what I paid. I have filed a complaint with the BBB, but am not hopefully that I will see a resolution through them as if you research the company through the BBB website, you will see that there have been 8 complaints filed and cooldroids has not responded to any of them.

  29. Bernadine Fox February 1, 2012 at 2:07 pm #

    I have previously posted here regarding my experience with Cooldroids and what has become crystal clear is that the moment that they get word that the company they offered the product through (my case Dealfind – others I see as TeamBuy) they mark the product as shipped in their computer. In my case they first said they shipped it on Dec 23rd…. never arrived. Then on Jan 10th, after Dealfind notified them I was cancelling my order they “shipped” one of the 4 ereaders I had purchased. But they gave the wrong tracking number which prompted me to cancel the entire order. One eReader did arrive WITHIN 24 HOURS of my cancelling the order. I did not accept delivery. It then took Deadlfind another 15 days to refund my money. What happens when you cancel is Dealfind needs 48 hours to notify Cooldroids that they are about to refund the money – this prompts Cooldroids (as far as I can see) to mark your order as “shipped” which prompts Dealfind to go back to the customer and say “we can’t refund your money because the product is already shipped.” Anybody with half a grain of brain power knows that it takes no more than a computer entry to mark an order as shipped. I had to prove to Dealfind that I had in fact “cancelled” the order to get them to authorize the refund or else Cooldroids would continue with the “shipping” chirade.

    I did get a refund through Dealfind. I tried to get a refund for the taxes through Paypal but was 2 days too late. I have asked Cooldroids for my money back and have not even received the standard “thanks for your email about…..”. Also their website has changed and no longer provides the street address for their company (which is/was #207 – 1425 Marine Drive West Vancouver, BC, Canada) but just a PO Box in W. Vancouver. They have removed their Blaine WA address AND their phone number posted for customer service. This is a very sketchy company.

    Thanks for putting up your initial post. This was very valuable for me. I was concerned early on about the viability of this offer but Dealfind kept assuring me that it was ok – that they checked them out – that other people were getting their products – I just needed to be patient. Patience cost me a lot of manhours fighting with them, a lot of anxiety, a Christmas without presents for 4 girls, and in the end $40 worth of taxes which I will probably never see. Save yourself a lot of grief – cancel your order, get your money back and get your product somewhere else. Can you imagine trying to get customer service out of these people if and when the product doesn’t work?

    Oh and by the way…. when I received my refund finally through Dealfind I turned around and went to FutureShop where I purchased four eReaders for less money than I initially paid through Cooldroids and Dealfind. On top of that, once they received my online order they did not charge my card until they were sure the product was in stock. Then they processed and shipped my order within 2 days. They sent me the tracking number and an easy-link to Canada Post to track my order. I received it on the third business day from the time I ordered it. That is a reputable company. Cooldroids is definitely not Future Shop!

  30. Sue February 1, 2012 at 4:50 pm #

    Info for all the people that haven’t received product and past the date it was supposed to arrive. Call credit card companies you processed it through or PayPal for chargeback due to non-delivery. They will start an investigation and provide you with the funds back, but it takes a little time for this to be all processed. I did it for the CoolDroids tablet and we did finally get money back on credit card.

  31. Linda February 6, 2012 at 8:43 am #

    Exactly same problem, late delivery, no Christmas presents, and even though we have now received, in 2 seperate orders, both tablets, the keyboards are not here and the company keeps telling us they are looking into it.
    I do feel TeamBuy has some responsibility here, of course along with CoolDroids. I will contact the credit card company tomorrow :((((

  32. Tim Preston March 2, 2012 at 2:13 pm #

    Wow. And wow.

    New rule; do not do business with any company that does not have, or refuses to
    provide, a customer support phone #, opting instead to use an online chat web app.
    My Cooldroids.com experience:

    1) Item (purchased via Teambuy) took 42 days to arrive (B.C. to Toronto, ON).
    2) Item returned on 43rd day after determining after only 1 hr of use that it did not
    live up to expectations (or advertised ‘regular’ price, see below).
    3) Canada Post tracking shows item was received back at Cooldroids 4 days later. This
    made me wonder what they were doing in the 38 days difference it took to get the
    package to me originally.
    4) Followed up with them 3 times over the next 2 weeks after not receiving a refund or
    any information from them. Only during the last chat did they mention that the refund
    process could take UP TO four weeks but that it would indeed be refunded (minus their
    20% ‘restocking’ fee).
    5) So, 4 weeks after 4) above, I initiated and had a lovely chat today with ‘canned-
    response’ Carlo at Cooldroids who politely informs me after all this time that it is,
    in fact, Teambuy’s responsibility for issuing the refund. A couple of sternly-typed,
    legally-insinuated recommendations for him to provide a phone # and a supervisor’s name with whom I may speak resulted in not but another couple of easy, one-click, canned-responses apologizing for the inconvenience.
    6) Leaving the chat window open, I look up Teambuy’s customer service phone # which is clearly advertised and easy to find on their web site and give them a call. My call is
    almost immediately answered and I explain the situation in overbearing detail due to my accumulated mood thus far which is further deflated when I come across Teambuy’s refund policy which states ‘we are generally unable to offer refunds after one week from the purchase date’.
    7) Contrast to Cooldroids, the Teambuy rep simply asks for the company’s name from
    which I received the item, my email address and the date is was returned. I supply the
    information and send him the Canada Post return shipment confirmation via email and PDF attachment. ‘No problem’, he replies, ‘the refund will be credited to your Visa within
    3-5 business days’, just as an email pops into my inbox from Teambuy confirming that
    the refund has already been processed.
    8) Before hanging up, I decide to execute my consumer rights and advise that he and
    Teambuy look into their relationship with Cooldroids. (Not only for the abysmal
    customer service but also because the Teambuy deal’s advertised ‘regular’ price was a
    lie – I found the same item advertised on numerous other popular sites for a regular
    price slightly less than the Teambuy ‘deal’ price). To this he replies, ‘we do have a
    Q/A department who has looked into Cooldroids which led us to remove them from the list
    of companies we offer deals with.’

    Sweet sweet vindication, how I have missed thee.

  33. Vanessa March 5, 2012 at 5:46 pm #

    My situation is worst, I ordered on Dec 8th, and got the tablet on the 23rd, minutes before leaving for the airport. So I took vacations and never unpacked the tablet until I got back, to my surprise the tablet wasn’t working so because I had taken a 15 day vacation I was unable to return or exchange the tablet. I am trying to use the 1 yr manufacturer warranty and they have not replied to any of my emails, and you already experienced what happens when you try to call. I think I will tweet them too to see what happens.

  34. sharon April 6, 2012 at 5:36 pm #

    Ditto…ditto…dittto…and ditto!
    My experience is same as all of you. No call backs emails returned, after returning my defective product.

  35. P Vassil May 1, 2012 at 3:31 pm #

    Well, I have the same issue but with dealfind they were very helpful in trying to get the tablet and more information from coodroids. They have offered me a refund numerous times thankfully. Had some great conversations with dealfind and mgr Rose bless her. I have declined refunds waiting to see if cooldroids would come through. Coolroids did finally respond saying we will be offered a substitute tablet last month but no word from them. It has been over 3 months now and I am finally going to ask for my refund. HOWEVER I have lost 60.99 in shipping that cooldroids charged me until visa can investigate. Good luck to all of you. My xmas was killed

  36. Anthony May 21, 2012 at 9:59 pm #

    COOLDROIDS.com SUCK!!!!! I returned my product to China on March 6th 2012…..and nothing…….I pray that I get a refund like all of you……or hope they go out of business

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: